The CO Research Trust is delighted to announce the first Christopher Bielby CO Research Award 2023 winner.

The judges decided that Joshua Durans from Sheffield Hallam University was a clear winner.

With thanks to IGEM for Co-sponsoring the award.

Joshua Durans accepting his award from Baroness Finlay and Ian McClusky
Joshua Durans accepting his award from Baroness Finlay and Ian McCluskey

Chris was a Trustee of the CO Research Trust (formerly the Gas Safety Trust) and was the Chair for more than ten years, remaining an active contributor despite his illness, generously sharing his insights and knowledge. Chris sadly passed away in July 2022 after being diagnosed with Motor Neurone Disease.

Chris Bielby was a great supporter of people. Throughout his long career, Chris made a point of developing, encouraging, and supporting people at the early stages of their careers, with carbon monoxide safety being at the heart of his work.

To honour Chris’ passion and commitment to safety and developing people, the CO Research Trust launched the Chris Bielby CO Research Award. The poster competition was specifically aimed at researchers and academics beginning their research careers, focusing on carbon monoxide research.

Chris spent his whole career in the gas industry with a passion and commitment to promoting safety. His work spanned many groups, one of which is IGEM.

We were delighted that IGEM agreed to Co-sponsor the award, in honour of Chris.

The Chris Bielby CO Research Award