13 July 2023



CO Research Trust CEO Adrian McConnell has taken home the Leadership Award at the annual Gas Industry Awards 2023.

Jointly organised by EUA and IGEM, the Awards recognise and reward the outstanding achievements of individuals and businesses working across the gas industry.

The winners were announced yesterday (13th July 2023) and celebrated at a prestigious awards ceremony and gala lunch held in the spectacular surroundings of Park Lane, London.

The Leadership Award 2023
The Leadership Award 2023

Adrian has managed the CO Research Trust, formerly the Gas Safety Trust, since 2013. Before joining the Trust he worked in politics for more than a decade - for a Member of the European Parliament, then in Westminster as a Parliamentary Researcher, before becoming Manager of the All-Party Parliamentary Carbon Monoxide Group in 2010.

He has led the significant changes that have taken place at the Trust in recent years and is continuing to drive forward projects and initiatives that will help increase the knowledge and understanding of carbon monoxide exposure.

Baroness Finlay, Chair of the Board at The CO Research Trust said.

"We are all delighted to see Adrian recognised from a very strong field to be awarded the Gas Industry Awards Leadership Award. His contribution to safety over many years, working collaboratively with many others, has raised awareness of all aspects of the dangers of carbon monoxide and the need for rapid detection and diagnosis. We are all proud to have him as our CEO."

Adrian said.

"I was both surprised and delighted to win the Leadership Award. I am proud to have the opportunity to work with the team at the Trust, to support research which seeks to protect people and prevent carbon monoxide exposure, which this award recognises. Winning this does feel like an affirmation of everything we are doing as a charity and as a team. Hopefully, this will spur us on to do more and continue to do it better!"

Adrian McConnell, CEO of The CO Research Trust
Adrian McConnell, CEO of The CO Research Trust